

Minutes of Meeting

Working Group on Vulnerable and Disadvantaged Consumers, October 2nd, 2017

As indicated in its concept note, the purpose of this working group is to provide a forum for member States representatives and interested stakeholders to exchange experiences on how to better protect vulnerable and disadvantaged consumers considering the challenges faced by developing countries, low-income consumers and those with low or non-existent literacy levels in both rural and urban areas.

The working group will meet every two months in conformity with the calendar which was annexed to the concept note. Overall, the Working Group will meet 5 times from October 2017 to June 2018. The outcome of its deliberation will be presented during the Third Session of the IGE on consumer protection law and policy.

During the first meeting on October 2nd, 2017 the participants (list attached) have decided:

- a. To work on the definition of vulnerable and disadvantaged consumers by sharing information on existing legal definitions;
- b. To work on the theme of financial issues including elderly consumers as both are usually related;
- c. To work on the theme of children as vulnerable consumers.

All participants of this group shall send their views and opinions by the 2nd November, 2017. Our next conference call will be held on the 4th December, 2017.



List of Participants

- 1. Paulina Murillo Nevarez, Ecuador, Defensoría del Pueblo del Ecuador
- 2. Deon Woods Bell, United States of America, Federal Trade Commission
- 3. Antonino Serra Cambaceres, Consumers International
- 4. Cristina Rodríguez Corzo, Colombia, Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio
- 5. Mr. Albert MELIÀ, Catalunya, Agència Catalana del Consum (ACC)
- 6. Lidiya Osaulenko, Eurasian Economic Commission
- 7. Sergey Sinyakov, Eurasian Economic Commission
- 8. Oleg Prusakov, Russia, Rospotrebnadzor
- 9. Andrey Puchkovskiy Russia, Rospotrebnadzor
- 10. Anna Koroleva, Russia, Rospotrebnadzor
- 11. Boniface Kamiti, Kenya, Competition Authority of Kenya
- 12. Brian M. Lingela, Zambia, Competition and Consumer Protection Commision
- 13. Carla Barata, Portugal, Direção Geral
- 14. Catarina Cunha, Portugal, Direção Geral
- 15. Paula Delgado, Portugal, Direção Geral
- 16. Khalid Kafafi, Egypt, Consumer Protection Agency
- 17. Iman Alhadary, Egypt, Consumer Protection Agency
- 18. Sheilla Mumasi, Kenya, Kenya consumer protection advisory Committee
- 19. Elias Mburu, Kenya, Kenya consumer protection advisory Committee
- 20. Robert Okoth, Kenya, Kenya consumer protection advisory Committee
- 21. Juliette Engoue, Cameroun, Director of the Department for Trade and Competition, CEMAC